Wednesday, November 08, 2006

FIFPro Player of the Year

Ronaldinho, the Barcelona star, won the most votes to win the FIFPro Player of the Year from the 43,000 players who were invited to make their vote on the best players of last year. The Brazilian international enjoyed a fantastic season last term helping Barcelona win both La Liga and the UEFA Champions League.

Ronaldinho's Camp Nou team-mate Lionel Messi took ASPIRE Young FIFPro Player Player's Award and that was not the end of the success for Barcelona as Samuel Eto'o was handed the FIFPro Merit Award for his contribution to the sport. Manchester United ace Cristiano Ronaldo claimed the ASPIRE Young Player Fan Award.

Italy's World Cup winning squad dominated the FIFPro Team of the 2005-06 season with four players making the side. Gianluigi Buffon, Fabio Cannavaro, Gianluca Zambrotta and Andrea Pirlo were the four Azzurri players to make the team. World Cup runners-up France had three players in the shape of Zinedine Zidane, Thierry Henry and Lilian Thuram in the team. Chelsea's John Terry, Ronaldinho, Eto'o and Milan's Kaka made up the rest of the team.

Tags: Sports, Football, Soccer, FIFPro, Barcelona, La Liga, Manchester United, Ronaldinho, Lionel Messi, Samuel Eto'o, Cristiano Ronaldo

Labels: ,


Post a comment

<< Home