Wednesday, July 11, 2007

Disputes on New 7 Wonders

Just when the world's citizens numbering about 100 million (via online, SMS and telephone voting) have chosen the New Seven Wonders and officially declared on 7 July 2007 in Lisbon, Portugal, there seems to be some disputes on how the New Seven Wonders were chosen.

Before I reveal who is disputing it, below are the official New 7 Wonders of the World?
Petra, Jordan
The Taj Mahal, India

Chichén Itzá, Mexico
Christ Redeemer, Brazil
The Roman Colosseum, Italy
The Great Wall, China
Machu Picchu, Peru

UNESCO, the United Nation cultural body that designates world heritage sites, disputed by stating "this campaign responds to other criteria and objectives than that of UNESCO in the field of heritage". So how now?

In order not to confuse the world, UNESCO has also declared that UNESCO is not involved in this New 7 Wonders project. This project is actually funded by Bernard Weber, a Swiss-born Canadian who is also a filmmaker, museum curator, aviator and explorer.

UNESCO also stated that criticised the ballot, saying it sent out a "negative message to countries whose sites have not been retained." Good move by UNESCO......are they going to officially denounce the new 7 wonders then?
Tags: New 7 Wonders, N7W, New Seven Wonders, New Seven Wonders of the World, Lisbon, Portugal, Petra, Jordan, Taj Mahal, India, Chichén Itzá, Mexico, Christ Redeemer, Brazil, Roman Colloseum, Great Wall of China, Machu Picchu, Peru, UNESCO, World Heritage, UN, United Nation, Bernard Weber



Anonymous Shai Coggins said...

Nicely done entry. Thanks again for visiting my blog.

11 July, 2007 23:07  
Blogger Johnny Ong said...

Thks and welcome

12 July, 2007 08:51  

Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home